The Girl Who Loved to Hide

“The Hidden Beauty!” Image taken by Vinoth Chandar: https://www.flickr.com/photos/vinothchandar/5929570738.

I asked her, “What are you hiding from?”

She replied, “I hide from pain. I hide from the past. I hide from hate.”

She continued:

I hide from people. I hide from rejection. I hide from my mother’s past and hide from my father’s past. I hide from the fear of not being worthy of love, worthy of my humanity, and worthy of being seen. I hide from judgment and disdain. I hide from fists and I hide from their anger. I hide from the yelling and I hide from the pounding. I hide from the betrayal of one’s blood. I hide from the dogma and  the hypocrisy.

But I also hide from laughter and connection. I hide from honor and from love. I hide from beauty and from wisdom.

You see I hide from death, and thus from life.

© 2015 Sandy Gordon. All rights reserved.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.