A Lesson in Patience While Chasing Dreams

I remember hearing from people that we, people living in America, live in an instant-gratification culture. Dr. Brene Brown stated, in reference to this perspective, that we want things to be fast, fun, and easy. Reading and listening to these words, I thought I was above it all. I thought I understood patience.

I was wrong.

At the end of last year, I decided to take on certain projects, projects that were meaningful and significant to me. With this in mind, I thought if I just worked my ass off in two months I should see results. I should see opportunities rushing through my door. Instead I saw nada. Yes, I saw certain improvements in certain areas of my life but I wanted my visions of success to be realized in two to three months.

However, I came face-to-face with my insecurities, feelings of inadequacy, jealousy and bitterness. I thought, “I must not be good enough, talented enough, pretty enough, fast enough. Why should I even try?” Eventually, feeelings of giving up ensued.

Through this deep trench I was digging myself in, I still kept showing up. I still practiced on my craft(s) for hours at a time. I pushed through my whining and insecurities. I pushed so much that there were certain days I couldn’t walk because I was too tired, but I still practiced at least an hour. Finally, I gave myself permission to relax.

In that period of relaxation and reflection(certain times throughout the day), I realized that everything takes time. Everybody is fighting a personal fight and all I can do is give my all and do my best with every ounce of heart and life in me. That is all I have control over.

Things have been hard since I don’t get to spend as much time with my mother, but I realized this is my lack of planning and incorporating things that matter to me in my schedule.

Tomorrow is a new day, but I already feel quite different. I feel more compassion for myself and others. I feel more determined despite not knowing when I will see the results. I feel I have a greater understanding of what is important to me and what I want to contribute and share with the world. Chasing dreams is not for the faint of heart. I guess I understand now why embarking on such journeys can truly transform one’s being.

Here’s to learning and growing and accepting all the joy and pain that come with that package.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.